- Legal review before publication. This is a comparative page. Legal must review every statement about ecambria and every comparison before it goes live.
- ecambria facts come from ecambria's own website only, checked on 7 Oct 2026 with a fetch tool (a model-mediated copy, so click-check each source). Production's article was not used as evidence. Each fact, its URL and the date checked are in import2/comparisons/ecambria.facts.md.
- The headline and sub are neutral. They name the question that matters, will the software come back and can you prove it, instead of a verdict. No fear lines, no "they fail".
- The summary card repeats four rows of the table below, with the same references.
- Name styling: the provider writes its name in lower case (ecambria escrow, run by ecambria systems GmbH). The page follows it and avoids starting a sentence with it.
- Currency to confirm: ecambria's English costs page shows its figures in dollars, and the German page wasn't reachable on 7 Oct. Confirm the currency before publication.
- Cut from production: "Ecambria does one thing", "Stop settling for source-code-only protection", "a report, not a certificate you can pass to an auditor" (criticisms ecambria's site doesn't support) and the $249/$129 Codekeeper figures.
Codekeeper vs ecambria. Compare what you can prove.
Codekeeper and ecambria both hold software in escrow. The question that matters comes next: will your software come back, and can you prove it before you need it?
Competitor details checked against ecambria's own website on 7 Oct 2026.
Trusted by 3,500+ teams, from regulated enterprises to fast-growing software vendors
The short answer
It depends on what you need back.
Both hold software in escrow. Here's where each one fits, and the question worth asking any provider.
When ecambria may suit you
You want IT experts to examine the source code by hand. At ecambria, the team checks completeness, compilability, version identity and documentation in its Cologne software laboratory2, for German and European clients2.
When Codekeeper suits you
You want proof the deposit builds before you need it, the option of a recovery we run for you, or a hosted service kept paid and switched on for an agreed period while we recover. Prices are published per application.
The question to ask any provider
“Show me that this deposit rebuilds without the vendor, and give me evidence I can file.” Ask it of every provider on your shortlist, us included.
- Legal review before publication: every row is a comparative claim.
- "Not stated on their website" marks what we couldn't find. It never says they lack it, and the note under the table says so.
- Flagged ⚑: "50+ integrations", "synced daily" and "in over 150 countries" are production claims still open in to-confirm.md. "3,500+ teams" is production's figure too (MESSAGING §6, used unflagged on the home page); confirm it with the others.
- Fact-check, 7 Oct: the Codekeeper column, and the Codekeeper cells in the hero summary, are now word for word the same on all nineteen comparison pages: Resilience recovery shown as best effort, Continuity as "paid and switched on for an agreed period", four rebuilds a year, a Tested Exit Report, and setup of $499 per arrangement ($999 for Continuity). Change them on every page or none.
- 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added on every comparison page; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification, so the verification cells name Continuity Pro.
- Dropped from production's table: base storage, unlimited repositories, 24/7/365 release processing, Assured Recovery, Validated, Verified and Certified, storage upgrades and multi-escrow options. They rest on the old line-up or on claims we can't confirm.
- ecambria's lab examination is substantial, so the proof and exit-test rows describe it in its own terms. The difference we draw is in our own column (AI agents, in hours, included in Pro), not a criticism of theirs.
- Agreement page: ecambria's /hinterlegungsvereinbarung/ page returned "not found" on 7 Oct, so agreement details come from its process page only.
Side by side
Codekeeper and ecambria, row by row.
What each provider offers, from ecambria's own website and Codekeeper's published line-up. Where their site doesn't say, we say so.
Codekeeper prices are list prices per application per month. Rebuilds run on supported technology stacks. "Not stated on their website" means we couldn't find it on ecambria's site on 7 Oct 2026, not that they don't offer it. Numbers refer to the sources at the foot of the page.
- Switching strip: production's /switch-to-codekeeper offers a buyout agreement drafted within 24 hours and no payment until the old contract ends. Those terms aren't confirmed, so the strip states none and says "Ask us how switching works". Sales must confirm the offer before any term appears here.
- 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification. The Recoverability Certificate rung names Continuity Pro.
What's different
Proof beats promises.
Having the code is the start. Having it back is the goal. Every Codekeeper protection comes with evidence you can file, and the higher you go, the more it proves.
Software Resilience Certificate
The deposit is held, and an automated check confirms what's in it, with a vault report.
Proves: it's there.
Recoverability Certificate
AI agents rebuild the deposit in the Codekeeper AI Verification Lab, with no help from the vendor, in hours. You also get the run report, an SBOM and an Exit workbook.
Proves: it builds. Agentic Verification
Tested Exit Report
Our specialists rebuild by hand in a clean room and test the business functions you nominate, without the original developers.
Proves: you could exit and keep working. Exit Exercise
Moving from ecambria?
Tell us about the agreement you have today, who's party to it and when it ends. We'll plan the move with you and your counterparties.
Sample evidence pack
See what your auditor would receive.
An anonymised set of outputs from a real Agentic Verification run, so you can judge the evidence before you talk to us.
- Recoverability Certificate
- Run report
- SBOM and Exit workbook excerpts
- Switching states no offer terms: the production offer is unconfirmed (see the switching strip).
- Jurisdiction makes no claim about a choice of governing law or hosting region for Codekeeper. Both are open in to-confirm.md; confirm before saying more.
- Legal review of every comparative sentence before publication.
- 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification. The verification answer names Continuity Pro, and the price answer adds Continuity Pro (from $1,699, setup $999).
Questions
Comparing Codekeeper and ecambria?
Can we switch from ecambria to Codekeeper?
Yes. Tell us about the agreement you have today, who's party to it and when it ends. We'll plan the move with you and your counterparties. Ask us how switching works
How do the agreements differ?
With Codekeeper Escrow, an Escrow Agreement covers the depositor and the beneficiary, and the deposit is released to the beneficiary when a release condition is met. With Resilience, a Resilience Arrangement means the deposit comes to Codekeeper and we run the recovery, best effort, with recovery work billed to the claimants who need it. One claimant is included; more are an add-on. At ecambria, the process starts with analysis and consultation, then a preliminary contract that includes an escrow agreement between the software producer, the licensee and ecambria3.
How do the prices compare?
Codekeeper publishes list prices per application per month. For software applications: Escrow from $199, Escrow Pro from $449, Resilience from $399, Resilience Pro from $649, Continuity from $1,449 and Continuity Pro from $1,699. Setup is $499 per arrangement, or $999 for Continuity and Continuity Pro. Escrow means the deposit is released to you and you run the recovery. Resilience costs more because we do the recovery. Continuity costs more again because we also keep the live environment switched on. On its costs page, ecambria lists running costs from $900 plus VAT a year per deposited object, with consultation, inspection, updates and release priced per case4.
How does verification differ?
Agentic Verification is included in Escrow Pro, Resilience Pro and Continuity Pro, with four rebuilds a year that you start. AI agents rebuild the deposit in the Codekeeper AI Verification Lab, with no help from the vendor, in hours, on supported technology stacks. They run on Codekeeper's own models, so your code stays in our environment. A successful run issues a Recoverability Certificate: it documents the rebuild, and release rights come from the agreement. At ecambria, IT experts examine the code in its Cologne laboratory, at least for translatability into an executable program2,3.
Sources
Where these details come from.
Based on information publicly available on 7 Oct 2026. Trademarks belong to their owners. If something has changed, tell us and we'll correct it.
- ecambria escrow, home page (in German). ecambria systems GmbH in Cologne; examination criteria; software laboratory; storage.
- ecambria escrow, Specialists for software escrow. German and European clients; completeness, compilability, version identity and documentation; laboratory; threefold redundant storage.
- ecambria escrow, Process. Consultation, contract, handover, laboratory check, storage, updates, release.
- ecambria escrow, Costs. Running costs, translatability check, items priced per case.
Checked on 7 Oct 2026 against ecambria's own website.
See the difference on your own applications.
We'll walk through your applications and show you, side by side with ecambria, what each protection would cover.