NewResilience, Continuity, the Pro levels and Agentic Verification: from safekeeping to proof you can recover.The new line-up is here.See what's new
Why this page looks like this. It replaces production's /articles/codekeeper-vs-guard-it on the template shared by all nineteen comparison pages, so a buyer comparing providers sees the same rows on every page.
  • Legal review before publication. This is a comparative page. Legal must review every statement about Guard-IT and every comparison before it goes live.
  • Guard-IT facts come from Guard-IT's own website only, checked on 7 Oct 2026 with a fetch tool (a model-mediated copy, so click-check each source). Production's article was not used as evidence. Each fact, its URL and the date checked are in import2/comparisons/guardit.facts.md.
  • The headline and sub are neutral. They name the question that matters, will the software come back and can you prove it, instead of a verdict. No fear lines, no "they fail".
  • The summary card repeats four rows of the table below, with the same references.
  • Guard-IT's site is guard-it.com. guardit.com belongs to an unrelated company.
  • "Guaranteed": Guard-IT describes its fees as guaranteed for the life of the agreement. We paraphrase as "fixed", because "guaranteed" is on our do-not-use list.
  • Cut from production: "the gap … never has time to open", "waiting for someone to be back at their desk", "Stop maintaining escrow and start trusting it" and the $249/$129 Codekeeper figures.
  • 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification, so the hero row says "Included in the Pro levels".
Comparison

Codekeeper vs Guard-IT. Compare what you can prove.

Codekeeper and Guard-IT both hold software in escrow. The question that matters comes next: will your software come back, and can you prove it before you need it?

Competitor details checked against Guard-IT's own website on 7 Oct 2026.

Codekeeper
Guard-IT
Who recovers
Released to you, or with Resilience, recovered by us
Materials distributed as the agreement directs6
Proof it builds
Agentic Verification, in hours. Included in the Pro levels
Level II rebuild, at the beneficiary's request2
Published prices
Escrow from $199 per application per month
Escrow fees not stated on their website; fixed for the agreement's life1
Track record
Founded 2014
Since 19993
Social proof straight after the promise. These are the logos production already uses, loaded from codekeeper.co. Where an image can't load (for example in the preview), the name shows instead. Use the approved set only.

Trusted by 3,500+ teams, from regulated enterprises to fast-growing software vendors

Airbus Bayer European Parliament General Motors Intuit Nestlé PepsiCo Pfizer
The short answer first, and a fair one. Comparison visitors want the verdict before the detail, so three cards give it: where Guard-IT may suit a buyer better, where Codekeeper fits, and the one question to put to any provider. The first card uses only facts from Guard-IT's own site, each referenced; the brief asks us to say where a competitor may suit a buyer better. The other two rest on MESSAGING §3, §4 and §6. Legal should review all three as comparative claims.

The short answer

It depends on what you need back.

Both hold software in escrow. Here's where each one fits, and the question worth asking any provider.

When Guard-IT may suit you

You want a US agent with a long record and a fixed fee. Guard-IT has been based in Austin, Texas, since 1999, with clients in more than 36 countries3. Its escrow fees stay fixed for the life of the agreement1, and its MS Word draft agreements can be used as they are5.

When Codekeeper suits you

You want proof the deposit builds before you need it, the option of a recovery we run for you, or a hosted service kept paid and switched on for an agreed period while we recover. Prices are published per application.

The question to ask any provider

“Show me that this deposit rebuilds without the vendor, and give me evidence I can file.” Ask it of every provider on your shortlist, us included.

Step 3, the model, set against one named provider. The rows are the same on all nineteen comparison pages. Every Codekeeper cell rests on MESSAGING §6: the protections and their jobs, Agentic Verification in hours, the Exit Exercise, the 6 Oct list price and setup fee, and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 only. Every Guard-IT cell comes from Guard-IT's own website, checked on 7 Oct 2026 and referenced to the Sources band.
  • Legal review before publication: every row is a comparative claim.
  • "Not stated on their website" marks what we couldn't find. It never says they lack it, and the note under the table says so.
  • Flagged ⚑: "50+ integrations", "synced daily" and "in over 150 countries" are production claims still open in to-confirm.md. "3,500+ teams" is production's figure too (MESSAGING §6, used unflagged on the home page); confirm it with the others.
  • Fact-check, 7 Oct: the Codekeeper column, and the Codekeeper cells in the hero summary, are now word for word the same on all nineteen comparison pages: Resilience recovery shown as best effort, Continuity as "paid and switched on for an agreed period", four rebuilds a year, a Tested Exit Report, and setup of $499 per arrangement ($999 for Continuity). Change them on every page or none.
  • Dropped from production's table: base storage, unlimited repositories, 24/7/365 release processing, Assured Recovery, Validated, Verified and Certified, storage upgrades and multi-escrow options. They rest on the old line-up or on claims we can't confirm.
  • Certifications: Guard-IT's site lists none. The cell says so in the agreed wording and adds what its security page does describe.
  • Verification is fair to both sides: Guard-IT runs a rebuild test on request (Level II). The difference we draw is in our own column (included in Pro, run when you choose, in hours), not a criticism of theirs.
  • 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added on every comparison page; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification, so the verification cells name Continuity Pro.

Side by side

Codekeeper and Guard-IT, row by row.

What each provider offers, from Guard-IT's own website and Codekeeper's published line-up. Where their site doesn't say, we say so.

Codekeeper
Guard-IT
What's protected
Software, SaaS and AI applications. Each application gets its own protection and level.
Source code, intellectual property and other digital assets, plus monetary escrow and paymaster services1.
Who runs the recovery
Escrow: the deposit is released to you, and you run the recovery. Resilience: the deposit comes to us and we run the recovery, on a best-effort basis.
Guard-IT acts like a trustee and distributes the materials as the agreement directs6.
Keeping a hosted service switched on
Continuity: we keep the live environment paid and switched on for an agreed period while we recover.
Not stated on their website.
Proof the deposit builds
Agentic Verification in Escrow Pro, Resilience Pro and Continuity Pro: AI agents rebuild the deposit in the Codekeeper AI Verification Lab, in hours, with four rebuilds a year included. Each successful rebuild issues a Recoverability Certificate.
At the beneficiary's request: Level I ($1,000) checks and fingerprints the files; Level II checks they rebuild per the developer's build instructions, quoted per project2.
Human-run exit test
Exit Exercise, an add-on to any plan: our specialists rebuild by hand in a clean room and test the business functions you nominate. You get a Tested Exit Report.
Not stated on their website.
Deposits
50+ integrations, with deposits synced daily.
Upload through the Client Tools portal or an encrypted upload form, or send physical media1,2.
Published prices
Yes. Escrow for software applications from $199 per application per month. Setup $499 per arrangement, or $999 for Continuity.
Escrow fees not stated on their website; fixed for the life of the agreement. Level I verification is $1,0001,2.
Certifications
ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified, audited by BSI.
Not stated on their website. Its security page describes monthly penetration tests of its own systems4.
Where they operate
3,500+ teams, in over 150 countries. Founded 2014.
Austin, Texas, since 1999. Clients in more than 36 countries3. Deposits stored in a redundant cloud location4.

Codekeeper prices are list prices per application per month. Rebuilds run on supported technology stacks. "Not stated on their website" means we couldn't find it on Guard-IT's site on 7 Oct 2026, not that they don't offer it. Numbers refer to the sources at the foot of the page.

Steps 2 and 4: the shift, then the proof ladder. This is the one place the page argues for Codekeeper, and it argues on evidence, not on Guard-IT: proof beats promises. The ladder is the agreed MESSAGING §4 wording, kept brief. The Recoverability Certificate documents the rebuild; it doesn't grant release rights.
  • Switching strip: production's /switch-to-codekeeper offers a buyout agreement drafted within 24 hours and no payment until the old contract ends. Those terms aren't confirmed, so the strip states none and says "Ask us how switching works". Sales must confirm the offer before any term appears here.
  • 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification. The Recoverability Certificate rung names Continuity Pro.

What's different

Proof beats promises.

Having the code is the start. Having it back is the goal. Every Codekeeper protection comes with evidence you can file, and the higher you go, the more it proves.

Every protection

Software Resilience Certificate

The deposit is held, and an automated check confirms what's in it, with a vault report.

Proves: it's there.

Escrow Pro · Resilience Pro · Continuity Pro

Recoverability Certificate

AI agents rebuild the deposit in the Codekeeper AI Verification Lab, with no help from the vendor, in hours. You also get the run report, an SBOM and an Exit workbook.

Proves: it builds. Agentic Verification

Add-on to any plan

Tested Exit Report

Our specialists rebuild by hand in a clean room and test the business functions you nominate, without the original developers.

Proves: you could exit and keep working. Exit Exercise

Moving from Guard-IT?

Tell us about the agreement you have today, who's party to it and when it ends. We'll plan the move with you and your counterparties.

Ask us how switching works
The secondary conversion, on every page. Visitors who aren't ready to talk can still leave their email. The sample evidence pack is the same offer on every page, so the site has one lead magnet instead of a different e-book per page. It also carries the launch story: proof, not promises. The button goes to the sample evidence pack page.

Sample evidence pack

See what your auditor would receive.

An anonymised set of outputs from a real Agentic Verification run, so you can judge the evidence before you talk to us.

  • Recoverability Certificate
  • Run report
  • SBOM and Exit workbook excerpts
Get the sample evidence pack
The five questions buyers ask when they compare. Switching, agreements, prices, verification and jurisdiction, in that order. Codekeeper answers use only MESSAGING §6 facts, and the price answer carries the agreed price logic sentence. Each Guard-IT sentence carries its source.
  • Switching states no offer terms: the production offer is unconfirmed (see the switching strip).
  • Jurisdiction makes no claim about a choice of governing law or hosting region for Codekeeper. Both are open in to-confirm.md; confirm before saying more.
  • Legal review of every comparative sentence before publication.
  • 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification. The verification answer names Continuity Pro, and the price answer adds Continuity Pro (from $1,699, setup $999).

Questions

Comparing Codekeeper and Guard-IT?

Can we switch from Guard-IT to Codekeeper?

Yes. Tell us about the agreement you have today, who's party to it and when it ends. We'll plan the move with you and your counterparties. Ask us how switching works

How do the agreements differ?

With Codekeeper Escrow, an Escrow Agreement covers the depositor and the beneficiary, and the deposit is released to the beneficiary when a release condition is met. With Resilience, a Resilience Arrangement means the deposit comes to Codekeeper and we run the recovery, best effort, with recovery work billed to the claimants who need it. One claimant is included; more are an add-on. Guard-IT offers a three-party Single-User agreement and a two-party Multi-User agreement with unlimited beneficiary enrolments, as MS Word drafts5.

How do the prices compare?

Codekeeper publishes list prices per application per month. For software applications: Escrow from $199, Escrow Pro from $449, Resilience from $399, Resilience Pro from $649, Continuity from $1,449 and Continuity Pro from $1,699. Setup is $499 per arrangement, or $999 for Continuity and Continuity Pro. Escrow means the deposit is released to you and you run the recovery. Resilience costs more because we do the recovery. Continuity costs more again because we also keep the live environment switched on. We found no escrow fees on Guard-IT's website; it says they're fixed for the life of the agreement, and it lists Level I verification at $1,0001,2.

How does verification differ?

Agentic Verification is included in Escrow Pro, Resilience Pro and Continuity Pro, with four rebuilds a year that you start. AI agents rebuild the deposit in the Codekeeper AI Verification Lab, with no help from the vendor, in hours, on supported technology stacks. They run on Codekeeper's own models, so your code stays in our environment. A successful run issues a Recoverability Certificate: it documents the rebuild, and release rights come from the agreement. Guard-IT offers Level I and Level II verification at the beneficiary's request; Level II checks the materials rebuild per the developer's build instructions2.

Does it matter where the provider is based?

Guard-IT is a privately held Texas corporation based in Austin, with clients in more than 36 countries3. If your organisation needs a particular governing law or data location, tell us on a demo and we'll confirm what we can offer before you sign.

Every statement about Guard-IT, traceable. A comparison page needs an audit trail: each reference number above links here, and each source is Guard-IT's own page as fetched on 7 Oct 2026. The fetch tool returns a model-mediated copy, so legal should click-check each link before publication. The visible line invites corrections, which keeps the page fair and easier to defend. The same facts, with quotes, are in import2/comparisons/guardit.facts.md.

Sources

Where these details come from.

Based on information publicly available on 7 Oct 2026. Trademarks belong to their owners. If something has changed, tell us and we'll correct it.

  1. Guard-IT, home page. Services, Client Tools portal, fees fixed for the life of the agreement, support hours.
  2. Guard-IT, deposit verification. Level I ($1,000) and Level II, at the beneficiary's request; deposit by media or encrypted upload form.
  3. Guard-IT, experience. Established 1999, Austin-based, privately held Texas corporation, clients in more than 36 countries.
  4. Guard-IT, security and encryption. Encryption, redundant cloud storage, monthly penetration tests.
  5. Guard-IT, escrow agreement formats. Single-User and Multi-User agreements as MS Word drafts.
  6. Guard-IT, business continuity planning. Guard-IT acts like a trustee and distributes the materials.

Checked on 7 Oct 2026 against Guard-IT's own website.

The same close on every page. A comparison page closes on the visitor's own situation: the demo is where the side by side becomes specific to their applications. Every page ends on the same two actions in the same order: Book a demo, then the sample evidence pack.

See the difference on your own applications.

We'll walk through your applications and show you, side by side with Guard-IT, what each protection would cover.

Chat widget goes here. Production runs HubSpot chat in this corner. Keep it on launch: it catches visitors with a quick question who won't book a demo yet. Route it to sales during office hours.