- Legal review before publication. Every comparative claim on this page (hero table, cards, side-by-side table and FAQ) needs legal sign-off.
- Every Escrowsure fact is cited from Escrowsure's own website, checked on 7 Oct 2026, with a numbered source. Production's article was not used as evidence. The facts file is import2/comparisons/escrowsure.facts.md.
- The sub-line is neutral. It names the question any buyer should ask, not a weakness of the other provider.
- The hero table shows three rows where both providers state something, so it reads as a fair summary, not a scorecard.
- Which Escrowsure: this page is about Escrow Europe (Pty) Ltd, trading as ESCROWSURE, in Somerset West, South Africa (escrowsure.com), which production's article compares. It isn't Escrowsure by Vaultinum, the name Vaultinum now uses for its own escrow service. APP Solutions bought ESCROWSURE in November 2025; APP Solutions also owns Vaultinum, and ESCROWSURE keeps its own brand and leadership (sources 4 to 7). The callout under the short answer says this in plain words, and the Vaultinum page links back here.
- Name: the company writes ESCROWSURE in capitals; the page uses Escrowsure for readability, as production does, and gives the legal name in the table.
- Fair on continuity: Escrowsure's SaaS levels include 90 days of hosting continuity and a full failover environment it hosts, so the sub-line and the first card say so.
- Production errors on the old page: Codekeeper "From $129" in its table (the text says $139), "Its site names no specific platforms" (Escrowsure names Git and SFTP), and Codekeeper "offices in Europe and North America" (not in MESSAGING §6).
- 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification, so the hero row says "Included in the Pro levels".
Codekeeper vs Escrowsure. Compare what comes back.
Escrowsure and Codekeeper both hold software under escrow agreements, and both offer ways to keep a SaaS service going. The question that matters is the same for any provider: will your software come back, and can you prove it?
Competitor details checked against Escrowsure's own website on 7 Oct 2026.
Trusted by 3,500+ teams, from regulated enterprises to fast-growing software vendors
The short answer
It depends on what you need back.
Both providers hold the code under an agreement. They differ in what happens next, and in the evidence you hold before you need it.
When Escrowsure may suit you
You want SaaS escrow that can keep the service going, with 90 days of hosting continuity or a full failover environment Escrowsure hosts, plus ISO/IEC 27001, 27017 and 27018 certification and a team in South Africa.1, 3
When Codekeeper suits you
You want proof the deposit builds before you need it, the option of a recovery we run for you, or a hosted service kept paid and switched on for an agreed period while we recover. Prices are published per application.
The question to ask any provider
“Show me that this deposit rebuilds without the vendor, and give me evidence I can file.” Ask it of every provider on your shortlist, us included.
- Codekeeper cells use MESSAGING §6 only: the 6 Oct list price for Escrow, software applications ($199, setup $499), Agentic Verification in the Pro levels (Escrow Pro, Resilience Pro and Continuity Pro), the Exit Exercise, Continuity's "paid and switched on for an agreed period", and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 as the only certification. Resilience recovery is shown as best effort, as §6 says.
- Flagged ⚑: "50+ integrations", "synced daily" and "in over 150 countries" are production claims still open in to-confirm.md. "3,500+ teams" is production's figure too (MESSAGING §6, used unflagged on the home page); confirm it with the others.
- Fact-check, 7 Oct: the Codekeeper column, and the Codekeeper cells in the hero summary, are now word for word the same on all nineteen comparison pages: Resilience recovery shown as best effort, Continuity as "paid and switched on for an agreed period", four rebuilds a year, a Tested Exit Report, and setup of $499 per arrangement ($999 for Continuity). Change them on every page or none.
- 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added on every comparison page; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification, so the verification cells name Continuity Pro.
- Escrowsure cells quote or closely paraphrase Escrowsure's pages. Where we found nothing, the cell says "Not stated on their website", and the note under the table explains that this is not a claim that they don't offer it.
- Continuity wording: Escrowsure's page says it "can secure 90 days of service" (not "will"), so the cell quotes it. How long the Full Failover Environment runs isn't stated.
- Human-run exit test: Level 3 compiles, builds and runs the application, which sits in the proof row. Testing of business functions isn't described, so the exit row says "Not stated".
- Prices: Escrowsure's site offers a free consultation and lists no prices.
- Left out: "supports organisations across 45 countries, including 13 central banks" (About page; counts aren't needed for the comparison), and the About page's "established in South Africa in 2003" next to "since 2004" on the home page (the page uses "since 2004").
- Legal review of every row before publication.
Side by side
Codekeeper and Escrowsure, row by row.
Codekeeper details come from our published line-up. Escrowsure details come from Escrowsure's own website, checked on 7 Oct 2026, with a source for each.
“Not stated on their website” means we couldn't find it on Escrowsure's site on 7 Oct 2026. It doesn't mean Escrowsure doesn't offer it: ask them. Rebuilds run on supported technology stacks. Escrow means the deposit is released to you and you run the recovery. Resilience costs more because we do the recovery. Continuity costs more again because we also keep the live environment switched on.
What's different
Proof beats promises.
Having the code is the start. Having it back is the goal. Every Codekeeper protection comes with evidence you can file, and the higher you go, the more it proves.
Software Resilience Certificate
The deposit is held, and an automated check confirms what's in it, with a vault report.
Proves: it's there.
Recoverability Certificate
AI agents rebuild the deposit in the Codekeeper AI Verification Lab, with no help from the vendor, in hours. You also get the run report, an SBOM and an Exit workbook.
Proves: it builds. Agentic Verification
Tested Exit Report
Our specialists rebuild by hand in a clean room and test the business functions you nominate, without the original developers.
Proves: you could exit and keep working. Exit Exercise
Already have an agreement with Escrowsure?
Ask us how switching works. Bring your current agreement and its notice terms, and we'll plan the move with you and your counterparties.
Sample evidence pack
See what your auditor would receive.
An anonymised set of outputs from a real Agentic Verification run, so you can judge the evidence before you talk to us.
- Recoverability Certificate
- Run report
- SBOM and Exit workbook excerpts
Questions
Comparing Codekeeper and Escrowsure?
Can we switch from Escrowsure to Codekeeper?
Yes. Tell us about the agreement you have today, who's party to it and its notice terms. We'll plan the move with you and your counterparties. Ask us how switching works
What agreement do we sign with Codekeeper?
It depends on the protection. With Escrow, the Escrow Agreement sets out when the deposit is released to the beneficiary, and you run the recovery. With Resilience, a Resilience Arrangement brings the deposit to Codekeeper, and we run the recovery on a best-effort basis. A Recoverability Certificate documents a rebuild; release rights always come from the agreement.
How do the prices compare?
We found no prices on Escrowsure's website; it offers a free consultation instead.1 Codekeeper's Escrow for software applications starts at $199 per application per month, with $499 setup per arrangement, and Escrow Pro, from $449, adds Agentic Verification. Compare what's included: how deposits stay current, and what proof you hold before you need it. See pricing
How does verification differ?
Escrowsure offers three source code levels, up to Level 3: a full compile, build and run with documented build instructions, and four SaaS levels, up to a full failover environment.2, 3 Codekeeper's Agentic Verification is included in Escrow Pro, Resilience Pro and Continuity Pro: AI agents rebuild the deposit in the Codekeeper AI Verification Lab, with no help from the vendor, in hours, and four rebuilds a year are included. Each successful rebuild issues a Recoverability Certificate. For a human-run test of the business functions you rely on, add an Exit Exercise.
Does it matter where the provider is based?
It can. Where the provider is based, where deposits are stored and which law governs the agreement all shape how a release works in practice. Escrowsure is based in Somerset West, near Cape Town, and has been part of APP Solutions, a European group, since November 2025.1, 5 Before you sign with anyone, us included, ask where deposits are stored and which law governs the agreement.
Sources
Where these details come from.
- Escrowsure, home page: legal name, address, services, testing levels and certifications. https://escrowsure.com/
- Escrowsure, Source Code Escrow. https://escrowsure.com/source-code-escrow/
- Escrowsure, SaaS Escrow. https://escrowsure.com/saas-escrow/
- Escrowsure, About. https://escrowsure.com/about/
- Escrowsure, “APP Solutions Acquires ESCROWSURE to Expand Global Footprint in Software Escrow and Tech Due Diligence”, 20 November 2025. https://escrowsure.com/2025/11/20/app-solutions-acquires-escrowsure-to-expand-global-footprint-in-software-escrow-and-tech-due-diligence/
- Escrowsure by Vaultinum (Vaultinum's escrow service), home page. https://www.escrowsure-vaultinum.com/en/
- Vaultinum, home page: “Vaultinum Software Escrow and IP Deposit now have their own dedicated website”. https://vaultinum.com/
Checked on 7 Oct 2026.
Based on information publicly available on 7 Oct 2026. Trademarks belong to their owners. If something has changed, tell us and we'll correct it.
Compare it on your own applications.
Bring the agreement you have today. We'll show you what each Codekeeper protection covers, side by side.