- Legal review before publication. Every comparative claim on this page (hero table, cards, side-by-side table and FAQ) needs legal sign-off.
- Every SES Escrow fact is cited from SES Escrow's own website, checked on 7 Oct 2026, with a numbered source. Production's article was not used as evidence. The facts file is import2/comparisons/ses-escrow.facts.md.
- The sub-line is neutral. It names the question any buyer should ask, not a weakness of the other provider.
- The hero table shows three rows where both providers state something, so it reads as a fair summary, not a scorecard.
- Fair on continuity: SES's SaaS Continuity is the closest like-for-like with Codekeeper Continuity on any comparison page, so the sub-line and the first card say so.
- Production errors on the old page: it says SES's "costs are hidden" (disparaging; dropped), contains the typo "scope pf services", and claims Codekeeper responds "within minutes during critical release events" and is "always live, always verified, and always ready".
- 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification, so the hero row says "Included in the Pro levels".
Codekeeper vs SES Escrow. Ask what comes back.
SES Escrow and Codekeeper both hold software under escrow agreements, and both offer continuity for SaaS. The question that matters is the same for any provider: will your software come back, and can you prove it?
Competitor details checked against SES Escrow's own website on 7 Oct 2026.
Trusted by 3,500+ teams, from regulated enterprises to fast-growing software vendors
The short answer
It depends on what you need back.
Both providers hold the code under an agreement. They differ in what happens next, and in the evidence you hold before you need it.
When SES Escrow may suit you
You want a UK provider that will recreate a SaaS service for you and keep it going for a continuity period, typically six months, with rebuilds witnessed by its consultants, and ISO 27001, ISO 9001 and Cyber Essentials Plus.2, 3, 5
When Codekeeper suits you
You want proof the deposit builds before you need it, the option of a recovery we run for you, or a hosted service kept paid and switched on for an agreed period while we recover. Prices are published per application.
The question to ask any provider
“Show me that this deposit rebuilds without the vendor, and give me evidence I can file.” Ask it of every provider on your shortlist, us included.
- Codekeeper cells use MESSAGING §6 only: the 6 Oct list price for Escrow, software applications ($199, setup $499), Agentic Verification in the Pro levels (Escrow Pro, Resilience Pro and Continuity Pro), the Exit Exercise, Continuity's "paid and switched on for an agreed period", and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 as the only certification. Resilience recovery is shown as best effort, as §6 says.
- Flagged ⚑: "50+ integrations", "synced daily" and "in over 150 countries" are production claims still open in to-confirm.md. "3,500+ teams" is production's figure too (MESSAGING §6, used unflagged on the home page); confirm it with the others.
- Fact-check, 7 Oct: the Codekeeper column, and the Codekeeper cells in the hero summary, are now word for word the same on all nineteen comparison pages: Resilience recovery shown as best effort, Continuity as "paid and switched on for an agreed period", four rebuilds a year, a Tested Exit Report, and setup of $499 per arrangement ($999 for Continuity). Change them on every page or none.
- 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added on every comparison page; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification, so the verification cells name Continuity Pro.
- SES Escrow cells quote or closely paraphrase SES Escrow's pages. Where we found nothing, the cell says "Not stated on their website", and the note under the table explains that this is not a claim that they don't offer it.
- Pricing image to check before launch: SES's validation page carries an image named "SES pricing table image". Our fetch tool can't read images, so we couldn't see whether it shows prices. The cell says "Free quotation on request", which is SES's own text. If the image publishes prices, add them with a citation.
- Who runs the service during SaaS Continuity isn't spelled out by SES, so the cells quote SES's own words only.
- Left out on purpose: client counts and years (SES's pages give 2,000+ and 3,000+ clients, founding in 2003 and "more than 25 years", and ISO 27001 since 2010 and 2012), and SES's no-setup-fee transfer offer (their commercial offer, not a comparison point).
- Legal review of every row before publication.
Side by side
Codekeeper and SES Escrow, row by row.
Codekeeper details come from our published line-up. SES Escrow details come from SES Escrow's own website, checked on 7 Oct 2026, with a source for each.
“Not stated on their website” means we couldn't find it on SES Escrow's site on 7 Oct 2026. It doesn't mean SES Escrow doesn't offer it: ask them. Rebuilds run on supported technology stacks. Escrow means the deposit is released to you and you run the recovery. Resilience costs more because we do the recovery. Continuity costs more again because we also keep the live environment switched on.
What's different
Proof beats promises.
Having the code is the start. Having it back is the goal. Every Codekeeper protection comes with evidence you can file, and the higher you go, the more it proves.
Software Resilience Certificate
The deposit is held, and an automated check confirms what's in it, with a vault report.
Proves: it's there.
Recoverability Certificate
AI agents rebuild the deposit in the Codekeeper AI Verification Lab, with no help from the vendor, in hours. You also get the run report, an SBOM and an Exit workbook.
Proves: it builds. Agentic Verification
Tested Exit Report
Our specialists rebuild by hand in a clean room and test the business functions you nominate, without the original developers.
Proves: you could exit and keep working. Exit Exercise
Already have an agreement with SES Escrow?
Ask us how switching works. Bring your current agreement and its notice terms, and we'll plan the move with you and your counterparties.
Sample evidence pack
See what your auditor would receive.
An anonymised set of outputs from a real Agentic Verification run, so you can judge the evidence before you talk to us.
- Recoverability Certificate
- Run report
- SBOM and Exit workbook excerpts
Questions
Comparing Codekeeper and SES Escrow?
Can we switch from SES Escrow to Codekeeper?
Yes. Tell us about the agreement you have today, who's party to it and its notice terms. We'll plan the move with you and your counterparties. Ask us how switching works
What agreement do we sign with Codekeeper?
It depends on the protection. With Escrow, the Escrow Agreement sets out when the deposit is released to the beneficiary, and you run the recovery. With Resilience, a Resilience Arrangement brings the deposit to Codekeeper, and we run the recovery on a best-effort basis. A Recoverability Certificate documents a rebuild; release rights always come from the agreement.
How do the prices compare?
SES Escrow offers a free quotation on request.4 Codekeeper's Escrow for software applications starts at $199 per application per month, with $499 setup per arrangement, and Escrow Pro, from $449, adds Agentic Verification. Compare what's included: how deposits stay current, and what proof you hold before you need it. See pricing
How does verification differ?
SES offers Code Validation, where the developer rebuilds the application while an SES consultant witnesses it, and Code & Deployment Validation, which adds a simulated release.3 Codekeeper's Agentic Verification is included in Escrow Pro, Resilience Pro and Continuity Pro: AI agents rebuild the deposit in the Codekeeper AI Verification Lab, with no help from the vendor, in hours, and four rebuilds a year are included. Each successful rebuild issues a Recoverability Certificate. For a human-run test of the business functions you rely on, add an Exit Exercise.
Does it matter where the provider is based?
It can. Where the provider is based, where deposits are stored and which law governs the agreement all shape how a release works in practice. SES Escrow is based in Handforth, England.1 Before you sign with anyone, us included, ask where deposits are stored and which law governs the agreement.
Sources
Where these details come from.
- SES Escrow, home page: services, certifications and address. https://www.ses-escrow.co.uk/
- SES Escrow, SaaS Continuity Escrow. https://www.ses-escrow.co.uk/saas-continuity
- SES Escrow, Software Validation. https://www.ses-escrow.co.uk/software-escrow-validation-verification
- SES Escrow, Automated Source Code Deposits. https://www.ses-escrow.co.uk/software-escrow-automated-source-code-deposits
- SES Escrow, Accreditations. https://www.ses-escrow.co.uk/accreditations
Checked on 7 Oct 2026.
Based on information publicly available on 7 Oct 2026. Trademarks belong to their owners. If something has changed, tell us and we'll correct it.
Compare it on your own applications.
Bring the agreement you have today. We'll show you what each Codekeeper protection covers, side by side.