- Legal review before publication. Every comparative claim on this page (hero table, cards, side-by-side table and FAQ) needs legal sign-off.
- Every LE&AS fact is cited from LE&AS's own website, checked on 7 Oct 2026, with a numbered source. Production's article was not used as evidence. The facts file is import2/comparisons/le-as.facts.md.
- The sub-line is neutral. It names the question any buyer should ask, not a weakness of the other provider.
- The hero table shows three rows where both providers state something, so it reads as a fair summary, not a scorecard.
- Production errors on the old page: its Codekeeper prices are in pounds (£149 setup, from £99) while the US pages say $249 and $139; it promises "release processing 24/7/365" and "certificates that auditors accept"; one sentence reads "finalized in live in under 24 hours"; and it calls LE&AS a "solicitor-led practice" that "can arbitrate software disputes", which LE&AS's pages don't say in those words.
- LE&AS's website is www.leaas.co.uk (with a double a). leas.co.uk is a different site.
- 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification, so the hero row says "Included in the Pro levels".
Codekeeper vs LE&AS. Compare what you can prove.
LE&AS and Codekeeper both hold source code under an escrow agreement. The question that matters is the same for any provider: will your software come back, and can you prove it?
Competitor details checked against LE&AS's own website on 7 Oct 2026.
Trusted by 3,500+ teams, from regulated enterprises to fast-growing software vendors
The short answer
It depends on what you need back.
Both providers hold the code under an agreement. They differ in what happens next, and in the evidence you hold before you need it.
When LE&AS may suit you
You want a UK provider with published prices, data that stays in the UK, and escrow agreements negotiated and drafted by solicitors with at least ten years' commercial and IP experience.2, 3, 4
When Codekeeper suits you
You want proof the deposit builds before you need it, the option of a recovery we run for you, or a hosted service kept paid and switched on for an agreed period while we recover. Prices are published per application.
The question to ask any provider
“Show me that this deposit rebuilds without the vendor, and give me evidence I can file.” Ask it of every provider on your shortlist, us included.
- Codekeeper cells use MESSAGING §6 only: the 6 Oct list price for Escrow, software applications ($199, setup $499), Agentic Verification in the Pro levels (Escrow Pro, Resilience Pro and Continuity Pro), the Exit Exercise, Continuity's "paid and switched on for an agreed period", and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 as the only certification. Resilience recovery is shown as best effort, as §6 says.
- Flagged ⚑: "50+ integrations", "synced daily" and "in over 150 countries" are production claims still open in to-confirm.md. "3,500+ teams" is production's figure too (MESSAGING §6, used unflagged on the home page); confirm it with the others.
- Fact-check, 7 Oct: the Codekeeper column, and the Codekeeper cells in the hero summary, are now word for word the same on all nineteen comparison pages: Resilience recovery shown as best effort, Continuity as "paid and switched on for an agreed period", four rebuilds a year, a Tested Exit Report, and setup of $499 per arrangement ($999 for Continuity). Change them on every page or none.
- 16 Oct: Continuity Pro added on every comparison page; base Continuity no longer includes Agentic Verification, so the verification cells name Continuity Pro.
- LE&AS cells quote or closely paraphrase LE&AS's pages. Where we found nothing, the cell says "Not stated on their website", and the note under the table explains that this is not a claim that they don't offer it.
- Worded carefully: LE&AS says it is "ISO9001 compliant", so we quote that rather than writing "certified". Its SaaS agreement is quoted on loss of service because the page doesn't describe how a service is kept running. Its £5m professional indemnity insurance is on its security page but isn't a certification, so it's left out of the table.
- Legal review of every row before publication.
Side by side
Codekeeper and LE&AS, row by row.
Codekeeper details come from our published line-up. LE&AS details come from LE&AS's own website, checked on 7 Oct 2026, with a source for each.
“Not stated on their website” means we couldn't find it on LE&AS's site on 7 Oct 2026. It doesn't mean LE&AS doesn't offer it: ask them. Rebuilds run on supported technology stacks. Escrow means the deposit is released to you and you run the recovery. Resilience costs more because we do the recovery. Continuity costs more again because we also keep the live environment switched on.
What's different
Proof beats promises.
Having the code is the start. Having it back is the goal. Every Codekeeper protection comes with evidence you can file, and the higher you go, the more it proves.
Software Resilience Certificate
The deposit is held, and an automated check confirms what's in it, with a vault report.
Proves: it's there.
Recoverability Certificate
AI agents rebuild the deposit in the Codekeeper AI Verification Lab, with no help from the vendor, in hours. You also get the run report, an SBOM and an Exit workbook.
Proves: it builds. Agentic Verification
Tested Exit Report
Our specialists rebuild by hand in a clean room and test the business functions you nominate, without the original developers.
Proves: you could exit and keep working. Exit Exercise
Already have an agreement with LE&AS?
Ask us how switching works. Bring your current agreement and its notice terms, and we'll plan the move with you and your counterparties.
Sample evidence pack
See what your auditor would receive.
An anonymised set of outputs from a real Agentic Verification run, so you can judge the evidence before you talk to us.
- Recoverability Certificate
- Run report
- SBOM and Exit workbook excerpts
Questions
Comparing Codekeeper and LE&AS?
Can we switch from LE&AS to Codekeeper?
Yes. Tell us about the agreement you have today, who's party to it and its notice terms. We'll plan the move with you and your counterparties. Ask us how switching works
What agreement do we sign with Codekeeper?
It depends on the protection. With Escrow, the Escrow Agreement sets out when the deposit is released to the beneficiary, and you run the recovery. With Resilience, a Resilience Arrangement brings the deposit to Codekeeper, and we run the recovery on a best-effort basis. A Recoverability Certificate documents a rebuild; release rights always come from the agreement.
How do the prices compare?
Both publish prices, in different units. LE&AS lists £750 setup and £595 a year for a standard agreement.2 Codekeeper's Escrow for software applications starts at $199 per application per month, with $499 setup per arrangement, and Escrow Pro, from $449, adds Agentic Verification. Compare what's included: how deposits stay current, and what proof you hold before you need it. See pricing
How does verification differ?
LE&AS integrity tests each deposit before accepting it, and offers full verification.3 Codekeeper's Agentic Verification is included in Escrow Pro, Resilience Pro and Continuity Pro: AI agents rebuild the deposit in the Codekeeper AI Verification Lab, with no help from the vendor, in hours, and four rebuilds a year are included. Each successful rebuild issues a Recoverability Certificate. For a human-run test of the business functions you rely on, add an Exit Exercise.
Does it matter where the provider is based?
It can. Where the provider is based, where deposits are stored and which law governs the agreement all shape how a release works in practice. LE&AS is based in Warwickshire and says its data does not leave the UK.1, 3 Before you sign with anyone, us included, ask where deposits are stored and which law governs the agreement.
Sources
Where these details come from.
- LE&AS, home page: services, experience, ISO 9001 statement and address. https://www.leaas.co.uk/
- LE&AS, Prices. https://www.leaas.co.uk/prices/
- LE&AS, Security: data centres, FTP deposits, integrity testing and verification. https://www.leaas.co.uk/security/
- LE&AS, About us. https://www.leaas.co.uk/about-us/
- LE&AS, Source Code Escrow. https://www.leaas.co.uk/services/source-code-escrow/
- LE&AS, SaaS Escrow Services (Access Assure). https://www.leaas.co.uk/services/saas-escrow-services/
Checked on 7 Oct 2026.
Based on information publicly available on 7 Oct 2026. Trademarks belong to their owners. If something has changed, tell us and we'll correct it.
Compare it on your own applications.
Bring the agreement you have today. We'll show you what each Codekeeper protection covers, side by side.